We understand that people with cancer are worried about coronavirus. Here is the latest guidance. We will update it regularly.

My Macmillan

Publications directory

Need to talk? Call us free*
0800 808 00 00 Monday to Friday, 9am-8pm

The web Directory of Information Materials for People Affected by Cancer is regularly updated and currently has details of over 1,900 booklets, leaflets, books and audiovisual materials for people affected by cancer. Most have been published in the last five years but we have included some older ones that are still useful.

Results: 29

Cover image of 'Cancer and complementary therapies'

Cancer and complementary therapies (October 2019)

Macmillan Cancer Support

This booklet describes the complementary therapies most often used for people with cancer and gives an idea of what is involved in each therapy. Includes details of useful organisations and other resources.

Cover image of 'Complementary therapies, relaxation and wellbeing'

Complementary therapies, relaxation and wellbeing (February 2018)

Breast Cancer Care

This booklet is about relaxation and wellbeing during and after breast cancer treatment. It looks at complementary therapies such as acupuncture, Reiki and massage. It also describes some popular relaxation techniques, including meditation and mindfulness, and has information on yoga, Thai Chi and Chi Gung. It discusses why people might use these complementary therapies and relaxation techniques after a diagnosis of breast cancer, and what they may need to think about before trying them. It also explains what herbal medicines and homeopathy are. 

Cover image of 'Diet and physical activity for men with prostate cancer'

Diet and physical activity for men with prostate cancer (May 2018)

Prostate Cancer UK

This factsheet is for men who have been diagnosed with prostate cancer and want to improve their health and wellbeing. It describes how a healthy diet and regular exercise may help men manage the impact of prostate cancer and its treatment. It does not cover eating problems caused by prostate cancer and its treatment.

Cover image of 'The cancer whisperer. How to let cancer heal your life'

The cancer whisperer. How to let cancer heal your life (2016)

Coronet (Hodder & Stoughton)

This book does not offer a cure for cancer. It offers a cure for your fear of cancer. Both memoir and self-help book, this is the remarkable chronicle of a passage from 'terminal' diagnosis to exuberant wellness in just a few months. The Cancer Whisperer reverses our traditional adversarial relationship with cancer by teaching us how to listen to it; how to be healed by it as well as seek to cure it; and how to be emotionally free of illness even when physically curtailed. Living on the frontier between her fierce will to live and necessary willingness to die, Sophie - now thriving with cancer - shares her journey with searing honesty, unapologetic vulnerability and intelligent pragmatism. Alongside rare insights into a condition now affecting approximately one in three people, she challenges the mental conditioning we need to overcome to redefine our narratives about cancer. As 'the cancer whisperer', she offers a groundbreaking practical guide that will encourage cancer patients to: Direct their own treatment while preserving their personhood in a system that tends to see them as patients more than people. Engage with fear, anger and grief in healthy and healing ways instead of toughing it out, trying to be positive or collapsing into despair. Radically shift from being a cancer victim to a cancer listener-to seeing cancer less as a disease than as a symptom of other underlying causes, and engaging proactively with whatever changes it calls on them to make. Discover what the author calls 'the whispering, the reaching into a well of darkness and finding your hands painted with light'. Inspired, wise and moving, this book is as unflinching as Lisa Lynch's The C Word, as uplifting as Kris Carr's Crazy, Sexy Cancer, and carries us to a new threshold in our relationship with cancer, strengthening our ability to meet it with courage, creativity, gratitude and grace. (Publisher)

Cover image of 'The cancer survivor's companion. Practical ways to cope with your feelings after cancer'

The cancer survivor's companion. Practical ways to cope with your feelings after cancer (2013)

Piatkus (Little, Brown Book Group)

Coping with life after cancer can be tough. The idea that the end of successful treatment brings relief and peace just isn't true for countless survivors. Many feel unexpectedly alone, worried and adrift. You're supposed to be getting your life 'back on track' but your life has changed. You have changed. With reassurance and understanding, Dr Frances Goodhart and Lucy Atkins help readers deal with the emotional fallout of cancer whether it's days, months or years since the treatment ended. Drawing on Dr Goodhart's extensive experience working in the NHS with cancer survivors, this guide is packed with practical and simple self-help tools to tackle issues such as worry and anxiety, depression and low mood, anger, low self-esteem and body image, relationships and sex, fatigue, sleep and relaxation. If you are a cancer survivor, this book will support you every step of the way. If you are supporting a loved one, friend, colleague or your patient, this is a vital read. Winner of the 2012 Best Health Book category in the Guild of Health Writers Awards and highly commended in the Popular Medicine category at the BMA Medical Book Awards 2012 this is the first UK book to look in depth at cancer survivorship and its emotional fallout. Government statistics indicate around 2 million people in the UK survive for at least 5 years post diagnosis and this figure is set to increase. This book will be an invaluable resource. (Publisher)

Cover image of 'Complementary and natural therapies for your child. Information for parents and families of a child or young person with cancer'

Complementary and natural therapies for your child. Information for parents and families of a child or young person with cancer (September 2017)

Children's Cancer and Leukaemia Group

This leaflet is for parents who are interested in finding out more about how complementary and natural therapies can help their child to cope with the side-effects of cancer and its treatment.

Cover image of 'Targeted therapies for lung cancer'

Targeted therapies for lung cancer (February 2019)

Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation

If you or someone you care for has lung cancer, and targeted therapy is a possible treatment, then it’s almost certain that you will have a lot of questions. We have produced this booklet in partnership with lung cancer experts and people affected by lung cancer to help you make positive, informed choices about your care and treatment.

Cover image of 'Oxford concise medical dictionary'

Oxford concise medical dictionary (2015)

Oxford University Press

Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science. The text has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entries are accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 145 illustrations and diagrams. This brand new edition includes over 450 new entries and features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology (particularly diabetology), and cardiology, amongst other specialist areas. Recommended web links are provided for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via a companion webpage on oxfordreference.com, and appendices have been expanded to include units of alcohol and the calculation of alcohol by volume, and a table of inherited medical conditions. Selling over 800,000 copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable home reference guide for the general reader. (Publisher)

Cover image of 'The cancer chronicles. Unlocking medicine's deepest mystery'

The cancer chronicles. Unlocking medicine's deepest mystery (2013)

The Bodley Head

When the woman he loved was diagnosed with a metastatic cancer, science-writer George Johnson embarked on a journey to learn everything he could about the disease and the people who dedicate their lives to understanding and combating it. What he discovered is that a revolution is now under way - an explosion of new ideas about what cancer really is and where it comes from. He combs through the realms of epidemiology, clinical trials, laboratory experiments and scientific hypotheses, to reveal what we know and don't know about cancer, showing why a cure remains such a slippery concept. His luminous accounts describe tumors that evolve like alien creatures inside the body, paleo-oncologists who uncover petrified tumors clinging to the skeletons of dinosaurs and ancient human ancestors, and the surprising reversals in science's comprehension of the causes of cancer, with the foods we eat and environmental toxins playing a lesser role. Perhaps most fascinating of all is how cancer borrows natural processes involved in the healing of a wound or the unfolding of a human embryo and turns them against the body. Throughout his pursuit, Johnson illuminates the human experience with elegiac grace, bearing witness to the punishing gauntlet of consultations, surgeries, targeted therapies and other treatments. Provocative and intellectually vibrant, The Cancer Chronicles will challenge everything you thought you knew about the disease - and provide hope for tomorrow and the future. (Publisher)

Cover image of 'Enjoy every sandwich. Living each day as if it were your last'

Enjoy every sandwich. Living each day as if it were your last (2011)

Bantam Press (imprint of Transworld Publications)

As medical director of the famed Preventive Medicine Research Institute, Lee Lipsenthal helped thousands of patients struggling with disease to overcome their fears of pain and death and to embrace a more joyful way of living. In his own life, happily married and the proud father of two remarkable children, Lee was similarly committed to living his life fully and gratefully each day. The power of those beliefs were tested in July 2009, when he was diagnosed with esophageal cancer, leaving him with a 90 percent chance of dying within five years. As Lee and his wife, Kathy, navigated his diagnosis, illness, and treatment, he discovered that he did not fear death, and that even as he was facing his own mortality, he felt more fully alive than ever before. In the tradition of Don't Sweat the Small Stuff, Tuesdays with Morrie and The Last Lecture, Enjoy Every Sandwich distils everything Lee learned about how we find meaning, purpose, and peace in our lives. Told with humour and heart, this deeply inspiring book will help readers embrace their humanity, accept uncertainty, and live a life of gratitude - whether they are facing the end now or not. (Publisher)

Sorry, no publications found.
Need to talk? Call us free*
0800 808 00 00 Monday to Friday, 9am-8pm